Farewell, Redtop.

Dre sent me this last night:

He called me and asked if he could pull the motor out.  Wow that was fast haha.  Now I need to get the silvertop and start cleaning it up.  List of things needed/to do:

  • Attempt to clean engine bay and spray it something, probably flat black
  • Find some stacks
  • Slot 16v headers to fit on silvertop
  • Figure out WTF to do with Megasquirt
  • Waterline bullshit

I really don’t want to deal with Megasquirt, I don’t want to have to deal with getting everything tuned.  I just want a simple, stock motor, no D1 wannabe shit.  I would have settled for a 16v.  Anyone interested in it?  Will trade for blacktop electronics.  That means I need… the ECU, harness, and… I don’t know what else.  Map sensor and other stuff.  Someone educate me please.  I have no idea what’s on the current motor.

Looking at the reference section on Club4ag, this is shit I need:

  • Vacuum sensor
  • Air temperature sensor
  • Air flow meter (wait… wtf)
  • “4-Wire heated O2 Sensor”
  • Ignitor and coil

Yeah, I’m lost.  Because I have Megasquirt, does it eliminate the need for any of this shit listed above?  Or should I already have this stuff because the motor was running?  Educate me!

~ by tehluckinator on February 18, 2010.

One Response to “Farewell, Redtop.”

  1. battleship grey engine bay ftw

Leave a Reply

 
